Song of the Day: “Satellite”

I haven’t posted since Thursday! (Insert panicked shriek here.) The trusty old (well, older than anything else on this blog) Artist Spotlight feature will return tomorrow. As for now, here’s another new feature…the Song of the Day. So what will it be like? First off, it probably won’t be every day, because although I definitely have enough songs I love to go around, that’s just too crazy to be posting a song for every single day of most of the rest of my life. I have a few already in mind, so they might come quickly at first, but there might be some longer stretches where I don’t have one particular song in mind to share. They’ll mostly be songs that are on my mind for some reason or another. Most of the time they’ll be one of my favorites of the moment, and sometimes they may be songs that might become one of my all-time favorites, but the only thing true of all of them is that they’re good songs. (Unless I specifically say they aren’t. :D) So here we go! Our first Song of the Day here at Harmony Avenue, just in time for midnight to strike here in Arizona…

“Satellite” by Lena!

A little background: This song won the Eurovision Song Contest for 2010. (Eurovision is a really interesting longstanding tradition in Europe…tons of countries get together and each submit a song to be judged, and then vote on each other, basically. ABBA won way back in 1974 for “Waterloo.” Heck yes. ๐Ÿ™‚ ) The song’s performer, Lena Meyer-Landrut, and the song itself, was selected via a German “American Idol”-style show calledย Unser Star fรผr Oslo (“Our Star for Oslo,” Oslo being where the Eurovision competition was held). I stumbled upon it about a week or so ago while searching Wikipedia about Adele, since it mentioned in the article that Lena had covered a song by her (“My Same”) for the show. Judging from the videos I watched, she isn’t a pitch-perfect live performer, but she’s really spunky, energetic, and really gets into the music. I like it a lot. Anyways, here’s the song. Bear in mind it’s INCREDIBLY catchy. You may not be able to get it out of your head for days. ๐Ÿ™‚

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Sue says:

    You’d like this blog: http://escinsider.blogspot.com/ by a J! boardie.

    1. Brandon R. says:

      Thanks for the link! Eurovision has always been pretty fascinating to me, but I’ve never known much about it…now I have a feeling I’ll be spending a lot of time on that particular blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. Sue says:

        Glad you liked it! Sam is a great expert, but I might be a bit biased since we’re friends. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Samantha says:

    Hey…Sue just told me that she linked you to my blog…thanks for checking it out, Brandon! Everyone’s welcome, especially other J! Boardies… ๐Ÿ˜‰

Now it's your turn...

