Song Shuffle Game: Christmas/Holiday Edition!

on

Better late than never, eh? I’m cutting it a bit fine posting a Christmas-themed Song Shuffle Game on…Christmas Eve, of all times, but I’ve been meaning to post this for a while, so I might as well do it now. 🙂 This time I’m coming up with the questions before I choose my songs, so it will be slightly less…crazy? Something like that. I’ll be picking 10 songs from my iTunes shuffle setting…5 from a search for “Christmas,” 5 from a search for “holiday.” (P.S.: Since my shuffle keeps trying to go back to MoTab, Ella Fitzgerald, or Harry Connick Jr., I’ve instituted a one-song-per-artist rule for my list this time. :))

  1. Once In Royal David’s City–Mormon Tabernacle Choir
  2. Sleigh Ride–Ella Fitzgerald
  3. Auld Lang Syne–Harry Connick, Jr.
  4. Carol of the Bells–Natalie Cole
  5. Deck The Halls–Pomplamoose
  6. The Christmas Song–Diana Krall
  7. Winter Song–Ingrid Michaelson & Sara Bareilles
  8. Wish List–Neon Trees
  9. The First Noel–David Archuleta
  10. Silent Night–Sarah Brightman

 

1. When was song 6 added to my iTunes library?

December 20, 2008. So wow, a little more than 2 years ago.

2. How does song 3 convey the spirit of Christmas (to me)?

Bahaha…oh dear, that was probably not the best song to land on spot #3. Well…I guess it talks about being together and having good times as friends/a family. So that goes with Christmas being a time to spend with family.

3. When’s the last time I listened to song 5?

Yesterday, at…well, let’s just say it was at night. Sort of. 🙂

4. Name another version of song 7.

Well, I’m definitely proving I really did type these questions and assign the numbers before I chose the songs, aren’t I? There isn’t any other recorded version of this tune, because it was only written a year or two ago. If you were Facebook friends with me, though, you could find a version that me and someone in my dorm at BYU did for a talent show. But it’s probably best you don’t go looking for that too hard. 🙂

5. Who would be a good artist to cover song number 1?

Someone classical…or maybe not. I don’t know. Charlotte Church? Sure, that sounds good. (I really shouldn’t use this question next time… :D)

6. Quote the first TWO lines of song number 2. (That’s one more than I asked myself to quote the last time. I’m movin’ on up… :))

Yes, an easy one! I could recite this whole song in my sleep. “Just hear those sleigh bells jingling, ring-ting-tingling too…c’mon, it’s lovely weather for a sleigh ride together with you. Outside, the snow is falling and friends are calling ‘Yoo-hoo!’ C’mon, it’s lovely weather for a sleigh ride together with you.” (That was kind of more than 2 lines. What can I say? I’m cool like that. :))

7. Translate song number 8 into Spanish. (And don’t use Google Translate this time…)

La lista de deseos. (K, I totally cheated. My translation without resorting to Google was too badly botched.)

8. How did I find out about song number 4?

I’m a Natalie Cole fan, and once a few years ago (I think way back when I used MSN Music), I checked out her second Christmas CD, and listened to all the 30-second clips. I absolutely LOVED this take on “Carol of the Bells” from the clip I heard, but it took me a while to finally get the song on my iPod. (AKA I just put it on a week or two ago. Yeah. I’m slow sometimes. :))

9. Describe song number 9 in three words. (Another upgrade from the last Song Shuffle Game, y’all. :))

Pretty, but middling. (David Archuleta is terrific, but I felt his Christmas CD kind of let him down a bit. The arrangements were kind of bland and overblown, and it just didn’t jibe for me with David’s heartfelt, genuine artistic style. And yeah, that was way more than three words, but at least I used only three to start off this parenthetical ramble.)

10. How many times have I played song number 10?

Apparently, only once…in December 2008. Sarah Brightman’s version just isn’t one of my favorites of the song, I guess. It’s beautiful, and her voice is lovely, but it doesn’t really bring anything new to the song. (I have a few other versions that really turn the song on its ear and/or serve it well, and those tend to be a lot more played.)

Well, there you have it. A quick, painless Song Shuffle Game for your Christmas Eve delight. (Or horror. :)) Make sure to play along in the comments (pick a few of your own songs, use some of my questions…or your own; etc.), and I hope you all have a very merry Christmas (or whatever holiday you celebrate). See you in a few days with some end-of-the-year Harmony Avenue goodness (I actually make a Best of 2010 list! I give you one more Artist Spotlight to close out the year!), and have a wonderful Christmas Eve. 🙂

Now it's your turn...

