Song of the Day: “Helplessness Blues”

So I actually was planning for another Song of the Day, but I couldn’t find a simple way to share it directly on this site, as I always do. That means another outstanding song will have to do…

“Helplessness Blues” by Fleet Foxes!

It’s the title track from Fleet Foxes’ upcoming album (out in May). I sheepishly admit I’ve only heard a few of their songs (“Mykonos,” “Tiger Mountain Peasant Song,” and “White Winter Hymnal”), but all that I’ve heard of their music, I’ve absolutely LOVED. It’s so melodic and engaging and unique and beautiful…but in a subtle, alluring way, if that makes any sense. This particular track starts off all driving and urgent, with an insistent acoustic guitar rhythm, and then about 3 minutes in shifts into a dreamy shuffle-type beat. The melody is stunning, the lyrics are thought-provoking, and it’s just an absolutely terrific song. I’ll definitely be checking out Fleet Foxes a bit more now, thanks to this. (Bonus: You can download it directly from this SoundCloud clip! It’s also available on iTunes, which is how I listened to it in the first place…it was a free single there last week.)

In other news…we’ve reached 35 posts here on Harmony Avenue! And, interestingly enough, over 2500 all-time views. (Plus, at the end of this month, Harmony Avenue will turn 6 months old.) Those numbers make me happy, as I’ve never had a blog before with that kind of exposure. Seeing as it’s just little old me writing about music I love, I’m very grateful for each and every one of you taking time out of your day to take a peek at what I have to say (and share). 🙂 Which brings me to a small announcement: For a while now, I’ve been planning to possibly change the theme for this blog (how it looks), and since I’ve reached a few milestones, within the next few days, I’ll most likely be going through with that plan. I’ll also be retiring the Song Shuffle Game feature (unless there’s some interest in it out there), since it hasn’t really worked out on paper the way I might have liked it to. Finally, I’ll hopefully be introducing a new feature or two in the near future. Stay tuned for all these changes! Thanks for reading. 🙂

Now it's your turn...

