Song of the Day: “Clementine”

Aiyaah! It’s been 11 days since I last posted. Time flies so fast when you’re having fun (or in my case, having fun, but also working hard, because I started my first job three weeks ago Wednesday). Sorry for the delay between posts…but good news, tonight there’ll be two! They’ll be short, but sweet! The second one is forthcoming…and it’ll be a new feature of sorts that I’ve been teasing for quite a while. Anyways, on to the Song of the Day…

“Clementine” by Sarah Jaffe!

Like I mentioned above, I started a new job (my first one! crazy times…) a few weeks ago. I work at Deseret Industries, which is a great place to work, and one thing I’ve noticed is how dang good the music is. I’ve heard tons of terrific, really out-of-the-box-for-an-LDS-thrift-shop songs (a lot of them on my iPod). And pretty much every day now, I hear at least one song I just have to find out more about. One of those songs was “Clementine.” The first day I heard it, unfortunately, by the time I was able to get to my phone and quickly jot down some lyrics from it I half-heard/remembered, then get home and Google it, I had no luck finding out what the heck it was. Thankfully, a few days later it played again, and this time I was able to hear the lyrics and the song a little better. I Googled it again that day after I got home, and bingo! I discovered it just fine. 🙂 It’s a truly gorgeous, heartbreaking song. Over on SongMeanings (a terrific music site where people post lyrics…you can find pretty much anything there…and then discuss what they think the song’s meaning might be), a few people mentioned that Sarah is probably referencing the old folk song “My Darling Clementine” with the lyrics in this song about “I wish I was Clementine”…kind of like she wishes she was beloved like the Clementine in the song. It’s something to think about, at any rate. Anyways, listen and enjoy. I think I’ll be checking out Sarah’s music more (it actually turns out I had an iTunes free song from her from about a year ago already), as what I’ve heard so far really intrigues me.

Thanks for reading, and look out for another exciting new post coming in a few minutes!

Now it's your turn...

