Song of the Day: “I’m Gonna Make It Better”

So I’m officially obsessed with Arcade Fire. Like completely obsessed. I’ve listened to their music about 80% of the time I go onto iTunes or my iPod since Wednesday. I can’t stop. Ever. Or at least for now. Anyways, as much as I’d like to post about them forever, since I don’t want this blog to become a one-trick pony/Arcade Fire lovefest, and there’s always tons of great music out there, let’s make today’s Song of the Day…

“I’m Gonna Make It Better” by She & Him!

I love She & Him (made up of actress Zooey Deschanel & guitarist/singer M. Ward), mainly because I have a somewhat intense celebrity crush (just for fun) on Zooey (picture below in case you’re somehow unfamiliar with her, and because you can never have too many photos of Zooey), and she’s proven to be just as adept at music as she is at acting and being a cool person in general. This is a track from their latest album, “Volume Two,” that I somehow missed my first time going through the album and finding my favorites. It’s a charming, understated song with some delicious harmonies, and a terrific guitar solo by M. Ward. There’s a slight little undertone of longing/heartbreak (as is the case with a lot of She & Him’s music), but it’s so winsomely delivered (also the case with a lot of She & Him’s music) that you can’t help but love it/smile. It’s sunny, lightweight pop, but it has heart and soul that keeps it from being too sugary or sweet.

So to keep myself honest on track, how about I tease a few things I’m planning to post in the next little while? Let’s see…

  • A few Artist Spotlights. Some artists I have on tap for those: Elbow, Alyse Black, and Jamie Cullum. Subjects subject to change, of course. 🙂
  • An album review or two? I haven’t done one of those in a while.
  • How about a new feature? There’s an idea I have involving spotlights on covers of songs. Stay on the lookout for that.
  • I’ve also thought about a potential guest-blogger feature here. I’ll have to talk to some peeps I know that would be interested in that…and of course, if you’re reading this and you’d like to be featured here with a post on something music-related, let me know! 🙂

That’s all for now, methinks. Thanks for reading!

Now it's your turn...

