Front Row Seat: Janelle & Ellie At The Nobel Peace Prize Concert

on

Hey, remember that new feature I teased about in my last post? The one involving live performances? ‘Tis here. (And I even came up with a cheesy name for it! It wouldn’t be a Harmony Avenue post without one…) Normally I plan to make this about one particular live performance, but for a few reasons, this post won’t highlight just one video…but five. They’re all from the same night…the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize Concert, which took place back on December 11 in Norway. Two of my favorite artists took the stage, and delivered absolutely outstanding performances: Janelle Monáe and Ellie Goulding. Rather than narrow their songs down to just one or two, I’m going to share them all. Happy New Year. 🙂

First off, Ellie did a lovely job with her cover of Elton John’s “Your Song,” enhanced beautifully by the on-stage orchestra. She also gave the best live version of her amazing song “Starry Eyes” that I’ve seen yet…the size of the orchestra and the unique setting really seem to energize her, and she’s absolutely in top form. Here are both of those songs:

Not that I like to compare artists too often, but I think Janelle Monáe did even better with her fiery 3-song set. First, she took on the Jackson 5’s infectious classic, “I Want You Back,” and handled it with aplomb:

Then (or perhaps before…I’m not exactly sure how the program order went, seeing as I, y’know, wasn’t there), she sang a two-song medley featuring a pair of my favorites of hers, “Cold War” and “Tightrope.” To say she brought down the house would be an understatement. I’m pretty sure even some dignitaries in the audience are dancing by the end…

And well, that’s pretty much it. I might tinker with this feature a bit next time it pops up, but for now I’ll just keep it plain and simple. After all, a picture is worth a thousand words (which makes 5 YouTube videos worth…quite a lot of words?). Thanks for reading. 🙂

One Comment Add yours

Now it's your turn...

