Song of the Day: “Jackie and Wilson”

It’s kind of hard to follow yesterday’s star-studded video affair, but it can’t hurt to try. Here’s a fine Song of the Day, from an artist whose star is most certainly rising right now…

“Jackie and Wilson” by Hozier!

Hozier is Andrew Hozier-Byrne, an Irish singer-songwriter who recently released his new, self-titled album. If I’m not mistaken, I’ve heard his single “Take Me To Church” on the radio a bit lately, and he recently performed on “Saturday Night Live” just last week, so chances are he’ll get pretty big here in the States. I first heard of him and his music while watching another show, “So You Think You Can Dance,” this summer. Another beautiful song of his, “Like Real People Do,” accompanied this gorgeous number by two of the finalists. My sister (with whom I was watching), interestingly enough, was a bit more enthusiastic than I was and bought the song, but her excitement soon passed on to me. She was the one to remind me about Hozier’s album release, and the song I’m highlighting here, “Jackie and Wilson,” is one of my favorites off that record. It’s a jaunty, crunchy, very fun song, and both the vocals and lyrics are extraordinary. Hozier has a very unique yet incredibly powerful voice, and his writing is just as strong…the way he puts things is a bit different, but I love it. (The chorus is especially riveting.) It’s a singular way of music-making. If you like this tune, make sure to check out the entire album. I highly recommend it.

2 Comments Add yours

Now it's your turn...

