Throwback Thursday: “How High The Moon”

I haven’t been able to post for the past few days, but seeing as Harmony Avenue is approaching its fourth anniversary (!!!) this week, I had to get out a timely Throwback Thursday post celebrating said milestone. I can’t believe it’s been four years since I started this blog…of course, two of those years, the blog was on hiatus while I was in Peru…but still, it’s been quite the ride. Thanks to all of you who have been part of this journey so far, and know that even after four years or so, there’s still more great music and great writing to come. Now, today, for our Throwback Thursday, a blast from the past both in general, and for Harmony Avenue…

“How High The Moon” by Ella Fitzgerald & Manhattan Transfer!

Back on October 25, 2010, I made my first official post on Harmony Avenue, an Artist Spotlight on one of the greatest singers of all time, First Lady of Jazz, Ella Fitzgerald. This gem of a performance was featured at the end of that Artist Spotlight, and is a clip from the 1983 Grammy Awards, where Ella performed with trailblazing vocal jazz group Manhattan Transfer. (Recently, a founding member of that group, Tim Hauser, passed away.) It’s an excellent tune, Ella still had it, even at 66, and Manhattan Transfer provides outstanding vocal accompaniment. You really can’t get much better than this, folks.

Thank you so much for reading…this post, and really any post from the last four years. It’s always great to see feedback, to see that you’re enjoying this blog, and I always love suggestions, comments, concerns, ‘likes,’ whatnot. My goal with this blog is always to share great music with you, and to share my passion for that music as well. As my blog subtitle says, Harmony Avenue is “where great music always has a home.” I’ll do my best to keep it that way, and keep highlighting quality music that we can all enjoy. Thanks for being a part of it all.

Now it's your turn...

