Music Video of the Day: “Unstoppable”

on

I haven’t done two Music Videos of the Day in a row in quite some time, but there’s a really terrific one I’ve been anxious to share…

“Unstoppable” by Lianne La Havas.

Lianne La Havas, a British pop/folk/soul singer-songwriter (you know me and my love for music from the UK), released her debut album “Is Your Love Big Enough?” back in the summer of 2012, and late last year I stumbled upon it…and wow, was it good. So good, in fact, that it garnered quite a lot of attention, even that of the legendary Prince, who even went so far as to hold an intimate concert in Lianne’s living room last year. She just has an incredibly unique and vibrant sound, and some top-notch songwriting chops, that really set her apart, plus her voice is stunning. She’s getting ready to release her sophomore album, “Blood,” pretty soon, and this is the lead single from it. (Funny how these two music videos I’m sharing in a row are both singles for an upcoming record. Did not plan that.) Her previous stuff is terrific, and I highly recommend you check it out, but this is yet another level. It’s confident, the groove is incredible, and it’s just a powerful, riveting, uplifting song. It’s wonderfully original, but at the same time, it really begs for repeat listening. (It might take you a bit to get used to it…I put it on my Spotify library, didn’t listen to it much, then rediscovered it a few weeks later and have been playing it frequently ever since.) The music video keeps things classy and intimate (another parallel I’m noticing with my last Music Video of the Day), featuring some outstanding dancing by Lianne herself. There’s no better way to just get this song, and the visuals are gorgeous…I’ve watched this whole thing three times now, and counting. I really think you’ll enjoy both the song and the video.

Thanks, as always, for reading, listening, and watching. More great music is of course coming your way here on Harmony Avenue.

Now it's your turn...

