Song of the Day: “Cavalier”

on

Today’s Song of the Day is a track I recently discovered thanks to a very great source for new music, the Fox reality dance competition “So You Think You Can Dance.” Take a listen to…

“Cavalier,” by Irish singer-songwriter James Vincent McMorrow.

As I’ve mentioned in passing on this blog, I’m a big “SYTYCD” fan. That said, I don’t usually watch the audition episodes. These past few weeks, however, I’ve been staying with my family (also big fans of the show), and ended up catching one or two of said episodes. The dancing was terrific, and the music was very often top-notch…this song in particular, used for one of the auditions (a girl who has been recovering from an accident that badly damaged one of her legs) really grabbed me. I’ve had the chance to listen to it a lot since then, and holy cow…it will quite literally stop you in your tracks. James’s vocal is absolutely haunting (his falsetto is unreal), the lyrics, musical bed, and production are sparse yet gorgeous, and the whole thing’s just incredibly, devastatingly beautiful. It’s a bit R&B meets confessional singer-songwriter, in the best way. I’ve been listening to this song quite a bit, and it’s definitely got me excited to check out more of James Vincent McMorrow’s work. Thank goodness for aspiring dancers with excellent taste in music on “So You Think You Can Dance.”

Thanks, as always, for reading and listening. Feel free to comment and leave feedback! I would love to hear from you.

Now it's your turn...

