Christmas Eve Throwback Thursday: “Love Is Christmas” & “I Believe In Santa Claus”

Christmas Collage

On this fine Christmas Eve, I don’t want to take too much of your time (or mine), but I wanted to share two last songs to ring in the Christmas season, and this being Throwback Thursday, they happen to be two songs I’ve shared before on the blog.

One of my favorite artists, Sara Bareilles, released a holiday single, “Love Is Christmas,” a few years ago, and at the time I shared it here. Its message is fairly simple–this season is a season of love. “Let love lead us…love is Christmas,” Sara wonderfully sings. Musically, she keeps things beautifully simple, with just a piano and a few strings to accompany her. For me at least, it’s a holiday classic:

The other song I’d like to share. “I Believe In Santa Claus,” was also released a few years ago, by a musician I went to high school with, Courtney Cotter King. She recently re-recorded it and shot a beautiful music video for the song as well. It draws parallels between the real reason we celebrate this season–Christ’s birth in Bethlehem, and the light He gives to us because of His life and His example–and the love and joy and light that Santa Claus gives us as well. It doesn’t matter how old you are, you can always believe in Santa Claus. Watch and listen here:

Thank you so much for reading and listening, as always. A very merry Christmas to each and every one of you.

Now it's your turn...

