My Top 100 Albums of 2015: Honorable Mentions and EPs

on

Best Albums Honorable Mention Collage

Here we are in mid-May, and after much delay, I’ll slip in one last piece of the Top 100 Albums of 2015 project puzzle without much ado. Since this post comes so late, I’ll just include album covers and a list, along with a playlist for my 12 favorite EPs of 2015. (I may create a playlist for the honorable mentions later, especially given that there’s so many this past year, but for now I’ll wait on that.) I’ve said it over and over, and I’ll say it one last time…2015 was an incredible year for music. Undergoing this project was a terrific way to experience just how good it was firsthand. I’m already well into my 2016 list, and I hope this year to have it planned much better in advance so I can get the list out on time and have it be, you know, actually relevant.

Stay tuned later TODAY for more posts! It’s been way too long and I have lots of music I’ve been very excited to share with you.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The 34 albums that didn’t quite make the cut for my top 100 list, but that I enjoyed enough to honor with a mention (in no particular order):

  1. Bryan Adams – Get Up
  2. Shania Twain – Still The One: Live From Vegas
  3. Ricky Martin – A quien quiera escuchar
  4. Ron Sexsmith – Carousel One
  5. Leona Lewis – I Am
  6. Reba McEntire – Love Somebody
  7. Trent Dabbs – Believer
  8. Ella Henderson – Chapter One
  9. BYU Noteworthy – Noteworthy
  10. The Maine – American Candy
  11. Gianmarco – #Libre
  12. Yuja Wang – Ravel
  13. Rebecca Ferguson – Lady Sings The Blues
  14. Jon McLaughlin – Like Us
  15. Lenka – The Bright Side 
  16. Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – Chasing Yesterday
  17. James Bay – Chaos and the Calm
  18. Jessie Baylin – Dark Place
  19. Henry Wolfe – Asilomar
  20. Passion Pit – Kindred
  21. Brooke White & Friends – Never Grow Up
  22. Sachal – Slow Motion Miracles
  23. Amos Lee – Live at Red Rocks with the Colorado Symphony
  24. Bomba Estereo – Amanecer
  25. Tim McGraw – Damn Country Music
  26. Courtney Barnett – Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit
  27. Metric – Pagans In Vegas
  28. Katherine Jenkins – Home Sweet Home
  29. Glen Hansard – Didn’t He Ramble
  30. Kim Nazarian – Some Morning
  31. John Pizzarelli – Midnight McCartney
  32. Elle King – Love Stuff
  33. Kathryn Calder – Kathryn Calder
  34. Jose Gonzalez – Vestiges & Claws

Now, my 12 top EPs from 2015 (full disclosure: because I took so long with this, a few were added post-2015…I guess that was a blessing in disguise of waiting to post it?):

  1. Ben Sollee – Steeples Vol. 1
  2. Fort Frances – No One Needs To Know Our Name
  3. Monogem – Monogem
  4. Elbow – Lost Worker Bee
  5. Ruth B – The Intro
  6. The Moth & The Flame – Young & Unafraid
  7. Robyn Sherwell – Islander
  8. Rhiannon Giddens – Factory Girl
  9. The Decemberists – Florasongs
  10. The Royal Concept – Smile
  11. The Wind & The Wave – Covers One
  12. Genevieve – Show Your Colors

A Spotify playlist of a highlight from each of the EPs is included below. I highly recommend you check out all this music…little by little, of course. Don’t get too crazy, or you’ll get like me. Thanks so much for reading and listening, and I’ll be back very soon (as in, today soon) with a new post or two to get things going again.

 

Now it's your turn...

